Who do you think the real Producer in hip hop are?

r.prince18r.prince18 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭✭✭
When i say producer I'm not talking about beatmakers i mean people that do what a lot of record producer like over see the mixing and mastering, song subject , the direction of how the singer or rapper sing or ryhmes on the song.

to me its Dr.Dre I know he get shit for not actually making beats but i think a lot of people don't understand when he listed his self as the producer he's doing what is what i described above

p.diddy explain it best

"im not a beatmaker, im a producer." "i dont program beats. i dont play an instrument. i know how to produce a whole song."

"theres a difference btwn making a track and producing a record. thats why we give diddy credit." - d. dot

"hip hop, traditionally has a different definition of "producer" then other music genres; in rock, a producer doesnt create the guitar riffs or drum beats".

Replies

• BackInWhiteBackInWhite Posts: 19,723 ✭✭✭✭✭
    what kinda phone service do you have, b?
  • rip.dillarip.dilla Posts: 14,589 ✭✭✭✭✭
    r.prince18 wrote: »
    p.diddy explain it best

"im not a beatmaker, im a producer." "i dont program beats. i dont play an instrument. i know how to produce a whole song."

Flawed logic . .

It means anyone can 'produce' music
    a.mann
  • nyst8ofminnyst8ofmin Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭✭
  • MF_DoomervilleMF_Doomerville Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Skateboard P
    Already Home_17
  • a.manna.mann Posts: 17,227 ✭✭✭✭✭
    rip.dilla wrote: »
    p.diddy explain it best

Flawed logic . .

Dre and Piddy are nothing more but glorified A&Rs

and it always sadden me how they successfully bamboozled people into thinking
    producing a hip hop track is as exchangeable as producing a song R&B

thus making them comparable to greats like Quincy Jones,Roy Ayers, and Herbie Hancock

which is a pure fuckin insult to those legends
    rip.dillaDisciplined InSight
  • AggyAFAggyAF Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭✭