Everything you needed to know about AIDS + answering why Magic Johnson has lived this long

sullysully Posts: 4,447
edited January 2013 in For The Grown & Sexy
Okay...my bad on not responding earlier to the HIV thread in the Social Lounge...been in a bit of panic mode the last couple days with my studying, so i was hesitent to spend time typing out a long, thought-out answer to the questions posed there....

BTW, this is going to be long, but informative. But i'm gonna try and explain as much as I can, b/c i'm gonna be technical, but also detailed, so anyone who cares to read this, will understand it better, and understand why HIV does what it does.

If you don't care about what all the shit I write, i don't really give a fuck. Typing this all out also helps me commit this info to memory, b/c, let's be honest, i'm not a medical professional yet; I'm still studying to be one. And I don't know everything about AIDS or HIV and stuff, but i'm gonna explain as much as I can.

Now, before I proceed, if you have preconceived notions about HIV that don't match up with what I say here, then allow me to stick my dick in your ear, and fuck what ya heard!

First, a little clarity on AIDS vs. HIV.
HIV is the virus that you get, AIDS is when your body's T-cell count drops below 200. At the point at which your T-cell count is lower than 200, you are officially diagnosed with AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome). This is acquired sexually via body fluids.

Now, before I go on,...

"What is a T-Cell?"

T-cells are cells in your body that make up what is called your "cellular immunity".

Now, there are two kinds of T-cells, CD8+ T-cells, and CD4+ T-cells.

T-cells are made in your bone marrow, and moved out to your thymus, where they are differentiated and given their specific functions